Effective Listeners #2

Last week I had this communication training Tech support (TS or service desk). Why tech support? TS is an important department in the organization. They are the first line to contact client (i.e. colleagues, professional or patients) and they are the image of the organization. I don’t work in the tech support, I am the system manager of Cyberlab,and I contact & support users on daily basis.  Sometimes I have no clue how I would do better and I would love to get some extra tools and technique to perform my tasks effectively. Here we go, I signed in for this training and it was a great present and pleasant experience for me.

I also realized that the more we work and task switching at the same time, the worse our listening gets. In fact people found it more and more difficult to listen carefully while they doing many different things at the same time.

The art of being an effective communicator, be it at home or work doesn’t just come from effective talking but also from effective listening. I have to listen to what the other person is saying and then accordingly, but not instantly, react to that… Let’s talk about the common barriers that hinder effective listening, and what we can do to change that to make us better listeners.
{EL #2 Surrounding noise}
When I am listening to someone, it’s easy to get distracted by all that’s around me and start thinking about all that. This means I am likely to miss out on what was being said and inadvertently do my work incorrectly or leave it incomplete – making me a bad listener in the process.
The solution is to ask the talker to move the site to a closed room and then I listen and take notes to make sure nothing important slips away. I may speak up to my co-workers politely when they speak/laugh too loud in the office. They might not know that I am on my phone.

{My Successes}

  1. with My value of care, I was the early bird, I checked the boys and they were ready to start their day with me.
  2. with My value of care, I made our Sunday delight, croissant with suasages and it smelled & tasted so good.
  3. with My value of love, I loved baking & cooking, I had great fun to stand in our kitchen and did what I loved.
  4. with My value of clarity, I clarified our schedule with the boys, when we agreed with our appointment and then we stick to it. When they agreed, they gave me excuses later on and I spoke up. <deal is deal, I am a fun auntie with some rules>
  5. with My value of care, he had an accident, he cried and I asked questions to clarify. I cared lots and asked “Shall we go to the hospital?” it wasn’t necessary and he was fine after that.
  6. with My value of love, it was my honor to repair mr Froggy, he is Jim’s cuddle frog. I didn’t remember how many operation he had, I was the teddy bear doctor and I repaired him when he visited me.
  7. with My value of love, it was my first time to repair mr Piglet, he got a small stitches on his right leg.
  8. with My value of fun, it was a cool place and I got bright ideas and great fun.
  9. with My value of fun, I had a young team mate, he was lovely and we won the game. <yeah!> We had our high five and happy dance.
  10. with My value of joy, I realized that I played like kids and I was very competitive. I was a happy girl, it was just a game and I loved it.
  11. with My value of commitment, I was a hungry bear, I enjoyed this chicken sandwich and it was so yummy.
  12. with My value of care, I appreciated her care. I appreciated her treat. I appreciated her kindness. Thank you so much.
  13. with My value of care, I took a power nap and it was so good.
  14. with My value of joy, I cooked my home-made (white) Asparagus soup, it smelled so good and it tasted amazing.
  15. with My value of compliment, my sweet gave me his compliment, our house smelled so damned good when I cooked and thank you so much.
Leave a Reply

