Effective Listeners #4

Last week I had this communication training for the Tech support (TS or service desk). Why tech support? TS is an important department in the organization. They are the first line to contact client (i.e. colleagues, professional or patients) and they are the image of the organization. I don’t work in the tech support, I am the system manager of Cyberlab and I contact & support Cyberlab users daily. Sometimes I have no clue how I would do better and I would love to get some extra tools and technique to perform my tasks effectively. Here we go, I signed in for this training and it was a great present and pleasant experience for me.

I also realized that the more we work and switch tasking at the same time, the worse our listening gets. In fact people found it more and more difficult to listen carefully while they doing many different things at the same time.

The art of being an effective communicator, be it at home or work doesn’t just come from effective talking but also from effective listening. I have to listen to what the other person is saying and then accordingly, but not instantly, react to that… Let’s talk about the common barriers that hinder effective listening, and what we can do to change that to make us better listeners.
{EL #4 I get stuck and forgot about the whole story}

Sometimes, when something has been said, I get so engrossed in one point that our mind tends to stay around it and misses the current conversation happening around me. It could be something interesting, shocking or even difficult to comprehend. In my head I am still mulling the same and going through the motions of listening, without actually listening.

The solution is to shake off that wandering thought process and get the whole picture right, before I do something about it. I simply ask question, clarify and summarize what I have heard.

{My Successes}

  1. with My value of dare, Yesterday I started to do my exercise, 2 mins planking and 2 mins sit up <about 20 x> here we go. I dared to do more! <yeah>
  2. with My value of joy, it was great to see my dear girl again, we had some good laugh.
  3. with My value of sharing, my friend was back from holiday, she shared her holiday story with me and I appreciated her care.
  4. with My value of focus, I planned my day up front, I had 3 Prio on my list and it was all done.
  5. with My value of care & partnership, I asked for support, I gotta complete this screenings in CYB <oh yeah!> and I sent my request.
  6. with My value of clarity, I asked for support, I clarified this request and I had his permission to do so. Thank you so much.
  7. with My value of care & partnership, ISO or not ISO and that’s not a question. I gave my feedback and I wondered why ISO is used in this story. She appreciated my feedback.
  8. with My value of focus, power point is done, I adjusted this for the audience and It made something fun, informative and clear.
  9. with My value of creativity, I was the first speaker in the meeting, without computer, I used old school method to present this project <woo hoo!> I did it.
  10. with My value of care & partnership, I gave them my compliment, I appreciated their support and partnership.
  11. with My value of love, I had my massage appointment, I took good care of me and I enjoyed my me time.
  12. with My value of care, I appreciated his care, his support and his partnership. He is my great friend.
  13. with My value of care, it was code yellow and the weather was bad. I waited my PR for a tram and I didn’t wanna get wet and be sick.
  14. with My value of care, I was home late, I cooked a quick yummy dinner and it worked for me.
  15. with My value of joy, I did my exercise and I loved it. <yeah!>
Leave a Reply

