Effective Listeners #6

Last week I had this communication training for the Tech support (TS or service desk). Why tech support? TS is an important department in the organization. They are the first line to contact client (i.e. colleagues, professional or patients) and they are the image of the organization. I don’t work in the tech support I am the system manager of Cyberlab and I contact & support Cyberlab users daily. Sometimes I have no clue how I would do better and I would love to get some extra tools and technique to perform my tasks effectively. Here we go, I signed in for this training and it was a great present and pleasant experience for me.

I also realized that the more we work and switch tasking at the same time, the worse our listening gets. In fact people found it more and more difficult to listen carefully while they doing many different things at the same time.

The art of being an effective communicator, be it at home or work doesn’t just come from effective talking but also from effective listening. I have to listen to what the other person is saying and then accordingly, but not instantly, react to that… Let’s talk about the common barriers that hinder effective listening, and what we can do to change that to make us better listeners.
{EL#6 Mesmerized by the charm}

What if the speaker who is talking is the best-looking person you ever met or saw? Then very often, our brains get so distracted by the charm and the pleasing visual imagery that we see, that we just concentrate on that and don’t actually listen to what is being said. What if the speaker is wearing a dress that we so wanted to buy but couldn’t find in our size? Then our mind might just get so distracted by thoughts of that dress that we’d simply stop listening to what is being said.

The solution is to stop judging a book by its cover – listen to what is being said because that is what I am there for.

{My Successes}

  1. with My value of care, I had a short night rest, only 4 hrs <why?> and I took it easy.
  2. with My value of clarity, I planned my day up front, I had a presentation in the afternoon and I made thing done.
  3. with My value of care & partnership, I asked for support, I appreciated her support.
  4. with My value of care & partnership, he asked for my support, we were a great team and it worked for us.
  5. with My value of partnership, he gave me feedback, I appreciated his input and I learned something new. Now I knew how to add my work telephone number in my profile.
  6. with My value of care & partnership, I appreciated his input, I clarified what I could do when he will leave his function and he appreciated my support.
  7. with My value of compliment, she gave me her compliment, I was attentive & supportive. Thank you so much.
  8. with My value of joy, I shared my joy with my dear girl, I appreciated her care and thank you for my smile.
  9. with My value of care & partnership, he asked for my support, I had no clue honestly and I asked for support.
  10. with My value of clarity, I clarified this situation, I appreciated her support and thank you so much.
  11. with My value of fun, I had a great laugh with the folks, I socialized with my co-workers and it was fun. Thank you for my smiles.
  12. with My value of care  & sharing, I shared my successes on my page, I care and I shared.  I did something new.
  13. with My value of care, I was happy to hear from him again, we set our appointment and I shared my care. Welcome back!
  14. with My value of care & partnership, I appreciated her support, I got what I needed for the presentation and thank you so much.
  15. with My value of insight, when I open up for the world, then I allow new wonderful things to my world. I create partnership with the team, I receive care and I receive trust. It is amazing!
  16. with My value of inspiration, I focus on the positive and I receive positive vibes. I accept my past without regard. I face my future without fear. I live my life now.
Leave a Reply

