Effective Listeners #7

Last week I had this communication training for the Tech support (TS or service desk). Why tech support? TS is an important department in the organization. They are the first line to contact client (i.e. colleagues, professional or patients) and they are the image of the organization. I don’t work in the tech support, I am the system manager of Cyberlab and I contact & support Cyberlab users daily. Sometimes I have no clue how I would do better and I would love to get some extra tools and technique to perform my tasks effectively. Here we go, I signed in for this training and it was a great present and pleasant experience for me.

I also realized that the more we work and switchtasking at the same time, the worse our listening gets. In fact people found it more and more difficult to listen carefully while they doing many different things at the same time.

The art of being an effective communicator, be it at home or work doesn’t just come from effective talking but also from effective listening. I have to listen to what the other person is saying and then accordingly, but not instantly, react to that… Let’s talk about the common barriers that hinder effective listening, and what we can do to change that to make us better listeners.
{EL#7: Beyond the Literal meaning}

I don’t always have to take things literally. Many times, I say one thing but mean it in a different way entirely – at this point in time, it is for the listener to take things in the right spirit – and not in the literal meaning of the words.

Literal is not always true – I have picked the emotional cues in what is being said as well

{My Successes}

  1. with My value of motivation, 90 was a number, it was a index and it was motivating. <Yeah!>
  2. with My value of joy, I shared my joy with her, it was a good start and I had a good day. <I made my day great!>
  3. with My value of care, I had this allergic reaction <damned!> I took good care of me and phew! less itchy and scratchy.
  4. with My value of care & partnership, he asked for my support and he was angry about this issue. I kept my cool and I clarified this with him.
  5. with My value sincerity, this angry issue stayed, I spoke up and cleared the air. I shared my understanding and I offered my support.
  6. with My value of care & partnership, she asked for my support, I listened and recorded. I asked question to clarify and I made her a happy person today.
  7. with My value of clarity, I spoke up about this issue, the key here was communication. It was a good move and it was better when she communicated. I gave my feedback.
  8. with My value of care, I cared for her, I shared my care and I appreciated her care for me too.
  9. with My value of fun, I had a great day with my new friend, we shared our joy in the break and thanks for your friendship & care.
  10. with My value of fun, I shared my moment of truth, she laughed so loud and my remark was brilliant. Thank you so much.
  11. with My value of care & partnership, I appreciated her support. I appreciated her care. I appreciated her partnership and I was a happy girl.
  12. with My value of insight, Friend:  one of the great thing I can have and one of the best I can be.
  13. with My value of care, I had one day rest after my exercise, my belly nagged me and I took it easy. I was happy that I can start planking, frog post and sit up again.
  14. with My value of dare & care, she asked for my feedback and I spoke up. Honestly now I don’t need any support, I have been the extreme madness and this experience made me stronger than ever. I appreciated her care, her partnership and her support.
  15. with My value of sharing, I appreciated his sharing. I gave him my compliment. I appreciated his inspiration.
Leave a Reply

