Effective Listeners #10

Last week I had this communication training for the Tech support (TS or service desk). Why tech support? TS is an important department in the organization. They are the first line to contact client (i.e. colleagues, professional or patients) and they are the image of the organization. I don’t work in the tech support,  I am the system manager of Cyberlab and I contact & support Cyberlab users daily. Sometimes I have no clue how I would do better and I would love to get some extra tools and technique to perform my tasks effectively. Here we go, I signed in for this training and it was a great present and pleasant experience for me.

I also realized that the more we work and switch tasking at the same time, the worse our listening gets. In fact people found it more and more difficult to listen carefully while they doing many different things at the same time.

The art of being an effective communicator, be it at home or work doesn’t just come from effective talking but also from effective listening. I have to listen to what the other person is saying and then accordingly, but not instantly, react to that… Let’s talk about the common barriers that hinder effective listening, and what we can do to change that to make us better listeners.
{EL #10 The Last word}
When I am listening, I have to keep my mind free and focused on what is being said, keeping the distractions and the mind wandering at bay. To be an effective worker or a caring human being – I have to improve my listening skills to understand the people around me and to make sure that I don’t take what they said in the wrong sense. Just open my ears, mind, and heart and listen…

{My Successes}

  1. with My value of love, I checked in Randstad rail and it didn’t come on time <Oops!> I checked in RR and I went to the city instead. I realized that I didn’t check out for Randstad rail <Oopss!> I got off the RR in LOI and checked out for Randstad rail <Ouch!> My bottom line is: I was in the same postcode and I didn’t need this fussy solution. I basically wasted extra 7 minutes. I loved my fussy logic and my fussy mistake.
  2. with My value of care, I was happy to see my girl friend, I shared my weekend adventure with her and she shared hers with me.
  3. with My value of sharing, I shared my CYB-successes, she was happy for me and I did what I can.
  4. with My value of clarity, I planned my schedule up front, I left office after few hours and I get things done.
  5. with My value of partnership, I had no clue what she meant and she asked for my support. I clarified what it was and <Aha!> the tech guy might help her , she gotta report this to him and I was her wrong address.
  6. with My value of joy, I was happy to see my co-worker, a morning greet and a smile made our day.
  7. with My value of care & partnership, I clarified this project with him, he asked for my support later on and I promised to keep him posted. Thanks!
  8. with My value of care & partnership, I finally met the lab guys, it was an amazing experience, I appreciated their partnership and I am excited to be there.
  9. with My value of care, my backpack was opened, this kind man told me and helped me to close it when I was in the train. I thanked him and gave him my compliment.
  10. with My value of clarity, I checked google map, I looked for my route to the building and it was my new sightseeing route. I have seen the whole Beverwijk today.
  11. with My value of care & partnership, my presentation was awesome, I had a good listener with sharp questions and I appreciated her partnership. She gave me her compliment.
  12. with My value of commitment, I really really wanted a kroket, I ate my snack I bought with me <cherry tomatoes, mini cucumbers and water> nom nom!
  13. with My value of care, I was exhausted after a long day, I was too late for my yoga class and I stayed home instead.
  14. with My value of care & partnership, I let my yoga teacher knew that I missed her this evening and I will be there next week.
  15. with My value of care & partnership, a promise is a promise. I sent out the message, I answered some mails and I sent my thank you mail.
  16. with My value of ZEN, Today  I am done my tasks. Now I chill out and prepare for the other exciting day. Tomorrow it will a new day. Tomorrow it will be a happy day. Tomorrow it will an important day.
Leave a Reply

